Yes CBS

The NCAA tournament is available for streaming, for free, on my phone. And, once again, the month of March has become the least productive part of my year.

CBS has made a habit out of making all of the games readily available. This isn’t the first year they’ve done it, and I hope it’s not the last. They have done something that I think most media companies are striving to do. CBS has figured out exactly what college basketball viewers want, and has devised a way to give it to them.

The NCAA tournament is hard to watch because of the large amount of games being played in the first few rounds. They have to play throughout the day, which means I can’t watch them on my TV at home. So, CBS created a great, easy to use, streaming website. It’s easy to choose which game I want to watch, and they are all free. And, if I don’t have access to my computer, I can simply download the app and watch on my phone.

I’m always amazed at how convenient and simple this process is each year. But when I think about it, it makes sense why CBS would put such effort into making its content available online for free.

For these first couple rounds, so many of the games are during work hours. CBS has to either accept poor ratings, or gain advertising dollars from online content. It’s an easy decision.

Leave a Reply

